An interview with Christian Albrings und Steffen Müller

Please introduce yourselves briefly.

Albrings: My name is Christian Albrings and I am 38 years old. I would describe myself as an early riser who loves spending time with his family in the garden and at home. At the University of Stuttgart, I studied civil engineering and architecture before working for ten years with a technical project management company in various roles. During this time, I was able to gain experience in a whole range of different positions – in fact everything from placement student to managing director. However, it was not possible to satisfy my desire for entrepreneurial freedom in any of these positions, with the result that Steffen Müller and I started our own business in October 2015. 

Müller: My name is Steffen Müller. I am 33 years old and, as the result of my business administration studies with the focus on corporate finance, I would call myself a classic business economist. The topic of my diploma thesis was project development. After qualifying, I developed a commercial real estate consultancy service for a large-scale real estate consultant. Christian and I got to know each other there. In my leisure time, I am an enthusiastic mountaineer. The feeling of freedom that this generates is really important to me. Presumably, this has to do with the fact that I come from an entrepreneurial family. Ever since I can remember, business was always an important topic at our dining table.

We attach great importance to continuous development – not only to the company as a whole, but also to each individual.

Header Projekterfahrung

Albrings: Yes, I also experienced this in my childhood and youth. Entrepreneurial thinking means that neither Steffen nor I differentiate clearly between work and leisure time. To put it simply, they are both part of life, and we always try to make the best of both aspects.

When did you come up with the idea of albrings + müller?

Müller: I think it was always obvious to both of us that employment – in whatever form – could never be a satisfactory solution in the long term. When working for our previous employer, it became clear how important a combination of commercial and technical expertise is for the real estate world – and now we incorporate that realization.

And that was your motivation?

Müller: Definitely! Freedom was also one of the main topics! Freedom is always right at the top of my agenda – this applies to everything I do – whether acting or thinking. The driving force for me was being able to maximize this freedom and to realize my own ideas.

Albrings: When our house was being converted I came across our old marriage folder. Before the ceremony the clergyman asked us what our objectives in life were. And so this folder enabled me to see in print that I had written “self-employment” under “medium-term objectives”. At this moment, I once more became very aware, that the time had really come to put this idea into practice. It’s all about freedom for me as well – even if it is always associated with great responsibility.

Müller: More responsibility and less security, too. You have to know how to deal with it; that's entrepreneurial risk – in other words, that’s the price of freedom.

How do you try to give this freedom to your employees?

Müller: We don't have employees, we have collaborators. 

And how is this evidenced in everyday work?

Müller: Working with albrings + müller is primarily characterized by a basis of trust – both towards each other and also in terms of our collaborators – and by a maximum of freedom. We do not have any hierarchical structures; instead we work together in groups and teams to which everyone can contribute their particular skills, expertise and qualities. It may sound trite, but, despite the security we provide for our collaborators, we do actually to a certain extent expect everyone to behave in an entrepreneurial fashion.

Albrings: This also applies to careful handling of resources, including our own. We want our collaborators to work in a sustainable way while continuing to develop their expertise. This is the only way in which they can perform well on a long-term basis. That is extremely important to us, as the whole company consists solely of collaborators. Everything that happens within the company happens in the heads of our collaborators. They are our most important corporate asset and, as a result, they are the highest priority.

albrings + müller was founded in autumn 2015. Can you remember the company's beginnings?

Albrings: Yes, of course – very well. We started regular business operations on 1 October 2015. At that time, the operative section consisted of four persons, supported by our assistant and trainees. At Expo Real, the large-scale commercial real estate fair, we were able to present ourselves to the public at the outset of business operations. This immediately resulted in a large amount of enquiries during our first business quarter.

Immobilienberatung Bibliothek

More responsibility and less security, that's entrepreneurial risk – in other words, that’s the price of freedom.

Were you not surprised by the tremendous response immediately after your company’s start-up?

Müller: Naturally we didn’t found albrings + müller in a totally starry-eyed manner. Both of us had been in the real estate sector for quite a long time and were able to rely on a good network. Presumably, many contractors estimated that they could now collaborate directly with proprietors. As a consequence, we were fortunate enough to find rapid market access and experienced a lot of support.


Yes, this positive response in any event provided us with a good start. Unfortunately, we were not initially able to focus fully on acquiring further assignments and on further development of our corporate strategy. There was simply not enough time. Our objective from the outset was not to neglect strategic thinking. When we expanded our collaborator base in February 2016 to such an extent that we had to double our office area, we were finally able to take the time to deal with our corporate identity, the internal organization, the team set-up and our general objectives. These themes are developing continuously. However, it is important for the basis to be correct.

Müller: Developing strategies means setting the course. In which direction should the company develop? What type of expertise is required? What is the business plan like? These are issues on which we spend time. We have also spent more time dealing with our list of clients and extended the initial network quite rapidly.

Albrings: To summarise, it can be said that albrings + müller has up to now undergone two strategic phases. During the initial phase we primarily took on short-term assignments but now we concentrate more on long-term mandates. This also provides a greater level of security.

What motivates you and your collaborators?

Müller: We'll do our best every day, because we want to achieve corporate objectives. Moreover, we want to make a substantive contribution to the market and to continue to enhance the real estate world with exciting projects. I believe that all of us at albrings + müller have extremely high standards in terms of quality.

Albrings: Our collaborators are also motivated by the fact that we seek their opinions regarding company issues and expect them to participate in discussions. We attach great importance to continuous development – this applies not only to the company as a whole, but also to each individual.

How about the future of albrings + müller?

Albrings: At present, our focus is on consultancy projects. In this context, we act as a service provider offering technical and commercial expertise. In the future we intend to focus to a great extent on our own project development. We are currently working on this initiative.

Müller: Exactly, consultancy and development. We are always present with these two mainstays – in good and poor market phases. This means additional security for our clients and for our collaborators. And this is very important to us, as, at albrings + müller, we feel responsible for both.

Im Gespräch mit Christian Albrings und Steffen Müller

Stellt Euch doch bitte einmal kurz vor.

Albrings: Ich heiße Christian Albrings und bin 38 Jahre alt. Mich selbst würde ich als Frühaufsteher bezeichnen, der gerne Zeit mit seiner Familie und im Garten daheim verbringt. An der Universität Stuttgart habe ich Bauingenieurwesen und Architektur studiert und im Anschluss zehn Jahre bei einem technischen Projektmanager in verschiedenen Positionen gearbeitet: Vom Werkstudenten bis hin zum Geschäftsführer durfte ich dort alle Funktionen bekleiden. Der Wunsch nach unternehmerischer Freiheit konnte aber mit keiner dieser Funktionen befriedigt werden, sodass es im Oktober 2015 dann mit Steffen Müller in die Selbstständigkeit ging.

Müller: Mein Name ist Steffen Müller. Ich bin 33 Jahre alt und gehöre mit meinem Studium der BWL und der Ausrichtung Corporate Finance zu den klassischen Betriebswirten. Meine Diplomarbeit habe ich zum Thema Projektentwicklung geschrieben. Anschließend habe ich bei einem großen Immobilienberater die kaufmännische Immobilienberatung aufgebaut. Dort haben Christian und ich uns auch kennengelernt. Privat bin ich begeisterter Bergsteiger. Das Gefühl von Freiheit, das man dabei spürt, ist mir generell im Leben sehr wichtig. Vermutlich hat das auch mit der Tatsache zu tun, dass ich aus einer Unternehmer-Familie stamme. Seit ich denken kann, ging es bei uns am Esstisch irgendwie immer um Business.

Wir legen großen Wert auf Weiterentwicklung – das betrifft das Unternehmen, das betrifft aber auch jeden Einzelnen.

Header Projekterfahrung

Albrings: Ja, das war in meiner Kindheit und Jugend genauso. Dieses unternehmerische Denken bewirkt auch, dass weder Steffen noch ich eine klare Trennung zwischen Arbeit und Freizeit vornehmen. Es ist einfach immer Lebenszeit. Und die versuchen wir immer bestmöglich zu nutzen.

Wann ist denn die Idee von albrings + müller entstanden?

Müller: Ich denke, uns beiden war irgendwie schon immer klar, dass eine Anstellung – in welcher Form auch immer – für uns keine langfristige Perspektive sein kann. Und bereits bei unserem vorherigen Arbeitgeber haben wir entdeckt, wie wichtig die Kombination aus kaufmännischem und technischem Know-how, so wie wir sie verkörpern, für die Immobilienwelt ist.

Und das war dann auch die Motivation?

Müller: Auf jeden Fall! Außerdem ging es um Freiheit! Freiheit steht bei mir immer ganz oben – bei allem, was ich mache. Sei es im Handeln oder im Denken. Für mich war der wesentliche Treiber, gerade diese Freiheit zu maximieren und meine eigenen Vorstellungen verwirklichen zu können.

Albrings: Ich bin wegen eines Umbaus im Haus auf unseren alten Hochzeitsordner gestoßen. Der Pfarrer hatte uns damals gefragt, was unsere Ziele im Leben seien. Und nun konnte ich in diesem Ordner schwarz auf weiß lesen, dass ich unter „mittelfristige Ziele“ auch „Selbstständigkeit“ geschrieben hatte. Da ist es mir auch nochmal verstärkt bewusst geworden, dass es wirklich Zeit wurde, das umzusetzen. Auch bei mir geht es um Freiheit – selbst wenn diese natürlich mit großer Verantwortung verbunden ist.

Müller: Größere Verantwortung und auch weniger Sicherheit. Damit muss man auch umgehen können, das ist unternehmerisches Risiko – sozusagen der Preis für die Freiheit.

Wie versucht Ihr, Euren Angestellten ebendiese Freiheit zu ermöglichen?

Müller: Wir haben keine Angestellten, wir haben Mitarbeiter.

Und wie zeigt sich dies im Arbeitsalltag?

Müller: Die Arbeit bei albrings + müller ist maßgeblich geprägt durch eine Vertrauensbasis – sowohl untereinander als auch gegenüber unseren Mitarbeitern – und durch maximale Freiheitsgrade. Wir haben keine Hierarchien, stattdessen arbeiten wir gemeinsam in flexiblen Gruppen und Teams, in denen jeder seine Kompetenzen und Qualitäten mit einbringen kann. Es mag etwas abgedroschen klingen, aber trotz der Sicherheit, die wir unseren Mitarbeitern selbstverständlich bieten, erwarten wir auch von jedem hier eine gewisse unternehmerische Haltung.

Albrings: Dazu gehört auch der schonende Umgang mit Ressourcen, auch den Eigenen. Unsere Mitarbeiter sollen ausgewogen arbeiten und sich dabei weiterentwickeln. Nur so können sie auch langfristig Leistungen erbringen. Das ist uns sehr wichtig, denn das ganze Unternehmen besteht ja aus nichts anderem als den Mitarbeitern. Alles was hier bei uns passiert, passiert in den Köpfen unserer Mitarbeiter. Sie sind unser wichtigstes Unternehmensgut und haben daher auch den höchsten Stellenwert.

Gegründet habt Ihr albrings + müller ja im Herbst 2015. Könnt Ihr Euch noch gut an die Anfänge erinnern?

Albrings: Das können wir sehr gut. Die aktive Geschäftstätigkeit haben wir am 1. Oktober 2015 aufgenommen. Im operativen Bereich waren wir damals zu viert, unterstützt wurden wir von Praktikanten und unserer Assistentin. Bei der Expo Real, der großen Gewerbe-Immobilienmesse, konnten wir uns dann gleich zu Beginn unserer Geschäftstätigkeit der Öffentlichkeit vorstellen und hatten direkt in unserem ersten Quartal eine große Menge an Anfragen.

Immobilienberatung Bibliothek

Größere Verantwortung und auch weniger Sicherheit, das ist unternehmerisches Risiko – sozusagen der Preis für die Freiheit.

Hat Euch diese große Resonanz direkt nach der Unternehmensgründung nicht verwundert?

Müller: Natürlich haben wir albrings + müller nicht ganz blauäugig gegründet. Wir beide waren schon lange Zeit in der Immobilienbranche unterwegs und konnten uns auf ein gutes Netzwerk verlassen. Vermutlich haben auch viele Auftraggeber geschätzt, dass sie bei uns nun direkt mit den Eigentümern zusammenarbeiten konnten. Dadurch haben wir dann zum Glück wirklich einen guten und schnellen Marktzugang gefunden und auch viel Unterstützung erfahren.

Albrings: Ja, diese positive Resonanz hat uns auf jeden Fall einen guten Start verliehen. Was anfangs dann leider etwas zu kurz kam, war die Akquisition weiterer Aufträge und die Weiterentwicklung der Unternehmensstrategie. Da hat einfach die Zeit gefehlt. Unser Ziel war es von Anfang an, das strategische Denken nicht aus den Augen zu verlieren. Als wir uns im Februar 2016 personell so vergrößert haben, dass es notwendig wurde, unsere Bürofläche zu verdoppeln, haben wir uns auch endlich die Zeit genommen, uns mit unserer Corporate Identity, der internen Organisation, dem Aufbau des Teams und unseren Zielen allgemein zu beschäftigen. Diese Themen entwickeln sich stetig weiter. Wichtig ist allerdings, dass die Basis stimmt.

Müller: Strategien ausarbeiten bedeutet Weichen stellen: Wohin entwickelt sich das Unternehmen? Welche Kompetenzen sind gefordert? Wie sieht der Businessplan aus? Das sind Fragen, für die wir uns Zeit nehmen. Außerdem haben wir uns verstärkt mit unserer Kundenaufstellung beschäftigt und das anfänglich bestehende Netzwerk relativ schnell erweitert.

Albrings: Zusammengefasst kann man sagen, dass albrings + müller bisher zwei strategische Phasen durchlaufen hat: Während wir am Anfang hauptsächlich kurzlaufende Aufträge entgegengenommen haben, konzentrieren wir uns nun auch auf langlaufende Mandate. Das ist zudem mit Sicherheit verbunden.

Was motiviert Euch und Eure Mitarbeiter?

Müller: Wir geben jeden Tag unser Bestes, weil wir unternehmerisch etwas erreichen wollen. Wir wollen den Markt auch ein Stück weit mitprägen und mit spannenden Projekten die Themen in der Immobilienwelt inhaltlich weiterentwickeln. Ich glaube, wir alle bei albrings + müller haben einen gewissen pedantischen Qualitätsanspruch.

Albrings: Unsere Mitarbeiter motiviert es auch, dass sie in Unternehmensfragen gehört werden und auch mitsprechen dürfen. Wir legen großen Wert auf Weiterentwicklung – das betrifft das Unternehmen insgesamt, das betrifft aber auch jeden Einzelnen.

Was kann man in Zukunft denn noch von albrings + müller erwarten?

Albrings: Aktuell liegt unser Fokus auf Beratungsprojekten, bei denen wir als Dienstleister mit technischer und kaufmännischer Expertise agieren. Ein großes Thema für die Zukunft soll aber auch die eigene Projektentwicklung sein. Daran arbeiten wir momentan.

Müller: Genau, Beratung und Entwicklung: Mit diesen zwei Standpunkten sind wir immer präsent – in guten und in schlechten Marktphasen. Dies bedeutet zusätzliche Sicherheit, für unsere Kunden und unsere Mitarbeiter. Und dies ist uns sehr wichtig, denn für beide fühlen wir uns bei albrings + müller verantwortlich.